Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Electric Jacks vs. Dinghy towing
Truck Camper Forum > General > General Discussion
RogerLA
Hello all, I'm new to TC. I've had my camper on the truck for about a year. The camper has hydraulic jacks and I am just too lazy (scared) to operate them. With a few camping trips planed for the summer, I want to have the freedom of driving to the nearby cities while camped. I have about $1,700 to spend on this project. I am not sure if I should invest in some electric jacks, mechanic jacks or a tow plate/tow bar/break system and bring my car with me. Your opinion is appreciated. Thanks
LindaH
It's not that big of a deal to take a camper on and off a truck...it just takes some practice, particularly in backing underneath to get it loaded again.

I doubt that you'll be able to get a base plate, tow bar, and brake system for $1,700...at least installed. Don't even know if you can buy the equipment for that amount, but perhaps if you buy used and do the installation yourself.

ON EDIT: You may want to take a look at the ReadyBrute Elite RV Tow Bar. It comes with the integrated ReadyBrake plus safety cables and in-dash light monitoring system for $831. You would still need a base plate, but this is one of the few systems you might be able to get and install (yourself) for the $1,700 you have to spend.

Of course, you could just keep your hydraultic jacks and learn to use them to save yourself a bunch of money! dry.gif
RogerLA
Thanks Linda. How about mechanical jacks? Aren't they much easier to operate? I think I can install them by myself.
weld1
QUOTE(RogerLA @ Mar 15 2009, 05:07 AM)
Thanks Linda. How about mechanical jacks? Aren't they much easier to operate? I think I can install them by myself.