Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: HELP
Truck Camper Forum > General > Truck Camper Specs
skynyrdrules
I am totally new to this whole camper thing. Every thing i read is from one end of the spectrum to the other. My ? is i have a 1997 f250 hd diesel 4x4 long box, it has racho adj shocks, air bags n the rear, and extra leave springs, the camper im looking at is 2800# dry. the guys that work at the dealers say my truck will handle it, some say no. On the forums theres people that r even heavier and say they love there set up. just tryin to get sum realistic info. thank you
Spanky
I see no raeson why your truck would have any problems carring this camper.
Sloppy
I've been surprised by how low the payload limits are on the diesel F250's.
Try here to find weight and axle limits:

https://www.fleet.ford.com/showroom/rv_trai...ing/default.asp

Ask the dealer if they'll show you in writing (and put in the sale contract) that your truck will handle the loads...
Mikemcgl
You can also ask around for the Slid In Camper Giude book. I saw one at the Ford dealer when I was there last week and asked for a copy. I'll post my copy if someone tells me how to post it. It's one page and lists the specs on slide in campers.
skynyrdrules
QUOTE(Spanky @ Jan 6 2012, 07:38 PM)
I see no raeson why your truck would have any problems carring this camper.

yea i am with you. i just bought a 2005 lance 920 model, that thing is awsome. i talked to a camper place and they said its no prob for my truck. thank u i appreciate the reply
skynyrdrules
QUOTE(Sloppy @ Jan 10 2012, 11:17 PM)
I've been surprised by how low the payload limits are on the diesel F250's. 
Try here to find weight and axle limits:

https://www.fleet.ford.com/showroom/rv_trai...ing/default.asp

Ask the dealer if they'll show you in writing (and put in the sale contract) that your truck will handle the loads...

ok thanks alot appreciate the reply.
Oscar