Astrid Bierworth
post Feb 25 2015, 08:20 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 8,007
Favorite Truck Camper(s): n/a
Type and Brand of Truck(s) Owned: GMC 2500 extended cab
Type of Tiedowns used: n/a
Truck and Camper Setup: We are looking to buy a truck camper for a trip to Alaska in 2016

Hi All,

My husband and I have been RVing for several years now in a fifth wheel, not full time, but half time. We want to buy a used truck camper for a trip to Alaska in 2016 and re-sell it after the trip. My husband does not want to take the trailer to Alaska. I am used to a lot more space than a truck camper provides, so this will present a number of challenges.

I would appreciate any tips that people can offer, from choosing the right camper (we will be looking for a used one), to outfitting it, to general tips on living in one for a number of weeks. We live in Eastern Ontario, Canada so a good part of the trip will be just getting there and back.

I am concerned about cooking as I will obviously have to do with less cooking utensils and pantry items, which will reduce the number of recipes I can use. We travel with a cat, so that involves a litter box as well.

Any tips, suggestions, web sites, etc. will be much appreciated.

Thanks!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
aqualung
post Mar 5 2015, 12:50 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 3,725
Favorite Truck Camper(s): Adventurer 90FWS
Type and Brand of Truck(s) Owned: Dodge 3500 Dually Quadcab 4x4 6.7L Cummins
Type of Tiedowns used: Torklift
Truck and Camper Setup: 2008 Adventurer 90FWS Torklift Tiedowns with SuperHitch and SuperTruss Firestone Air Bags Torklift Load Stabilizers Fastgun Turnbuckles

Hi Astrid

Being in Eastern Ontario you may find it difficult to find a used camper. The only dealer in the area that has campers now is Trailica. Miller's in Metcalfe no longer carries truck campers, although he still has one new camper left on the lot. Be prepared to travel to go see one.