Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Complete re-caulking?
Truck Camper Forum > General > General Discussion
AraWithSpirit
Our 4 years old NL has never leaked but I just realized by reading from a few others that theirs has and I should as preventive maintenance re-caulk it all!

I am not good at it as I have watched professionals do it without even using their fingers but instead at incredible speed and precision do a beautiful bead.

Would you take it to a Camper/RV Dealer? Has anyone had such experience of such preventive maintenance?

Being full time West mainly we could just about go anywhere. I think it would be a worthwhile investment.
Freespool
I would recommend Galaxy Truck Campers in Ontario. David owns the shop and is involved in all repairs. This is a family style place that sells Lance truck campers. The shop has been there for decades. Give David a call at 9093219053
skyhammer
QUOTE(Freespool @ Jan 21 2017, 04:45 PM)
I would recommend Galaxy Truck Campers in Ontario.  David owns the shop and is involved in all repairs.  This is a family style place that sells Lance truck campers.  The shop has been there for decades.  Give David a call at 9093219053

I re-caulked my camper last Summer. It didn't need it, but I did it anyway. I was easy. It took 4 tubes to do all the seams and 2 tubes of dicor to do the skylights and AC.
I spent the most time removing the old dicor with a heat gun and scraper, but it went quickly.
I found that the key was to cut the nipple on the caulk to the correct angle and width, and not to caulk when it is cold.
AraWithSpirit
QUOTE(skyhammer @ Jan 22 2017, 04:37 PM)
I re-caulked my camper last Summer. It didn't need it, but I did it anyway. I was easy. It took 4 tubes to do all the seams and 2 tubes of dicor to do the skylights and AC.
I spent the most time removing the old dicor with a heat gun and scraper, but it went quickly.