Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> 6-10 in an 8ft bed?, putting a short unit in a long bed

bartman
post Apr 28 2014, 05:00 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 7,537
Favorite Truck Camper(s): northern lite
Type and Brand of Truck(s) Owned: 1994 gmc sierra standard cab, 6.0l Diesel, 4 x 4.
Type of Tiedowns used: none yet
Truck and Camper Setup: no camper yet

Hi Folks, Complete newb here ; ).
I just got given a truck, a 1994 GMC Sierra standard cab, 4 x 4 6.0l diesel.
I have seen a lovely Northern Lite 6-10 for sale locally, but how does that work in an 8ft truck bed?
Can I make a 'pallet' type affair to fit between the front of the camper, and the end of the truck bed?
Can anyone shed any light on this for me?
Thanks in anticipation,
Bart
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
drc5900
post Apr 30 2014, 02:13 AM
Post #2

Member No.: 4,241
Favorite Truck Camper(s): The one I have of course: Jayco!
Type and Brand of Truck(s) Owned: 1997 Dodge Ram 3500 4x4 5.9L 12v Cummins Turbo Diesel Dually Extended Cab, Billeted Goerend AT Tranny w/triple disk TC & manual lockup.
Type of Tiedowns used: The ones it came with: homemade.
Truck and Camper Setup: Truck as above. Camper: 1993 Jayco Jay Hunter 950 fully equiped, approx. 3000Lbs loaded. Homemade tiedowns. 5000Lbs Mopar receiver hitch. Homemade 3' extended hitch. Homemade Jackadapters for dually: 1/4"SS 6"x6"x6" square tube. "Donut" between reartruck- and camper slider window. No Airbags: the camper nicely smoothed out the hard suspension :-) . Hott-Rod electric heater added to propane waterheater.

If it were for me, I'd make something out of lumber to put in the truckbed between the camper and the truck cab, so that the camper can't slide forward too much (sliding forward too far might possibly damage the rear of the camper if it has lower overhang.).