Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 8,323
Favorite Truck Camper(s): Unknown
Type and Brand of Truck(s) Owned: planning to buy one
Type of Tiedowns used: None
Truck and Camper Setup: None

Hello!

I am just getting into Truck campers. I have been researching all types of RVs and I feel that Truck campers are a superior way to camp. But I am puzzled about a few things.

My understanding is that there is an umbilical cord between the truck and the camper to charge the camper batteries. How is this connected to the truck's alternator? Do you need to upgrade the alternator to a heavy duty unit to be able handle the extra load? As to the location of the camper batteries, I was thinking of putting them in the truck bed to cut down on the length of the charging cables. What is your experience with this?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Spanky
post Jul 8 2015, 07:01 PM
Post #2

Group: Moderator
Member No.: 144
Favorite Truck Camper(s): Lance 1030
Type and Brand of Truck(s) Owned: 1999 F350 Power Stroke Dually SuperCab
Type of Tiedowns used: Torklift
Truck and Camper Setup: 1999 Ford F350 4x4 Super Cab 1 ton Dually Lance 1030 Torklift tiedowns

What kind of plug do you have on your truck, 7way, 5way or other. Normally you can turn on your key, nothing else just turn the key to on and check your plug with a test light, you should have one prong in your plug that will be hot. That is your "charge" line. That is the wire you want to connect to your camper to charge battery. As far as where to place your batteries, I would think you could put them pretty much wherever you want. I used to have an extra battery on mine and that is where I had it.

--------------------
1999 F350 Power Stroke Dually Super Cab, 2003 Lance 1030
+Quote Post
TJN
post Jul 13 2015, 03:04 PM
Post #3