CAJones
post Feb 21 2016, 12:57 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 8,745
Favorite Truck Camper(s): Arctic Fox
Type and Brand of Truck(s) Owned: F350 SRW, FX4, 6.4L Diesel, Ext Cab
Type of Tiedowns used: Torklift
Truck and Camper Setup: 2008 F350, 2015 Arctic Fox 990. I use torklifts on the front and bumper buttons on the rear, Firestone brand manually inflated airbags, and a rubber mat between the truck bed and camper.

I currently own a 2008 F350, 4WD, SRW, 6.4L Diesel and Haul a 2015 Arctic Fox 990. I'm an over-the-road truck driver. I spend a month on the road, then come home to my truck/camper for about five days. I only put about 3000 miles on the odometer per year. Other than considering switching from Ford, I'm also wanting to make other equipment changes with my purchase.

I want to go from SRW to DRW because I weigh in at 12,500 lbs (1,100 over 11,400 rated limit). And that was with all three camper tanks empty and no gear. I'm considering buying a 2WD because I never go offroading and I don't see enough snow to ever use 4WD. I'm also considering switching from diesel power to either the 5.7 Hemi, 6.4 Hemi, 6.2 Ford, or 6.0 Vortec. Considering the $8000+ added cost of a diesel engine, the added cost of maintenance, the troublesome exhaust regeneration systems, my low miles, and the fact that I won't be pulling a heavy trailer anytime soon; a gas engine seems to make more sense to me. I'm also intrigued by the auto leveling air ride option that Ram is offering.

Wanting to switch from SRW to DRW is kind of a no-brainer. But I do realize that my desire to go with 2WD and Gas Engine goes against the grain of most opinions.

So I would like to hear from others whether you think Chevy, Ford, or Dodge is the best choice and why. I know there's a lot of rivalry among the big three. I never thought I would ever consider switching away from Ford, but now I am. I still love Fords, but I just don't want to keep buying Fords out of blind loyalty.